Are jet skis legal in Massachusetts?
Anyone 16 or 17 years old can use a PWC in the state of Massachusetts as long as they took and passed the Boating Education Course that is state-approved. Once you pass the course you will obtain the Boating Safety Certificate and you are required to bring that along with you while operating a PWC.
Do you need a license to drive a jet ski in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts law requires all motorboat operators who are 12 through 15 years of age to complete an approved boating course in order to operate a motorboat without adult supervision. Also, all PWC operators who are 16 or 17 years of age or older must complete an approved boating course.
Can you tube behind a jet boat?
You absolutely can tube behind a personal watercraft (PWC)! Jet Skis, WaveRunners, and Sea-Doos are much more affordable and compact than boats, and they’re a surprisingly great way to tow a tube.
How big of a jet ski do you need to pull a tube?
In general, a jet ski with a minimum of 110 horsepower is strong enough to pull a tube and passenger weighing up to 200 pounds. However, the true pulling abilities for each jet ski will differ slightly. More powerful skis can pull multi-rider tubes.
How much horsepower does a jet ski need to tow a tube?
If you’re looking for the best jet skis for tubing, it’s recommended you stick to the models which have at least 120 HP. Although the lower performance jet skis can pull a tube, 120 HP will give you a much better riding experience and tubing won’t overload these stronger engines.
Can you drive a jet ski at 16?
Operators of personal watercraft must be at least 14 years of age. … A person under age 16 may not operate a PWC. A person between 16 & 18 years of age may operate a PWC if they have successfully completed an approved education course, or if they are accompanied by a person 18 years or older.
What do you need to register a jetski in Massachusetts?
- Bill of Sale – Name, address and signature of the seller must be on the bill of sale.
- If you purchased your boat from a business, the bill of sale must be written up on company letterhead.
Can a 12 year old operate a boat?
Age and Operator Restrictions
Persons 12 to 15 years of age may operate a vessel powered by a motor of 15 hp or more, including PWCs, if they are supervised on board by a person at least 18 years of age and in possession of his/her California Boater Card.
Can you tow behind a 2 seater jet ski?
Yes! Towing behind a jet ski is possible if you have a more substantial style 3-person sized jet ski. This is because you need two additional seats alongside the driver of the jet ski; a person to put up a flag if the skier falls into the water, and space for the skier to jump back on the jet ski when they are done.